Putin’s 4 conditions for ceasefire in Ukraine

Putin’s 4 conditions for ceasefire in Ukraine

International Deskdaily-bangladesh.com

Published: 11:27 1 March 2022   Updated: 18:55 1 March 2022

File Photo

File Photo

Russian President Vladimir Putin has set “four conditions” for a ceasefire in Ukraine. He made the proposals on Monday night.

“A peaceful solution to the crisis in Ukraine is possible only if Russia’s legitimate security interests are accepted unconditionally,” Russian President Vladimir Putin mentioned in the four conditions.

The Kremlin said this in a statement after a telephone conversation with French President Emmanuel Macron on Monday. 

The four conditions are — Russia’s sovereignty over Crimea must be recognized, Ukraine must be disarmed, a solution to uproot the Nazis and Ukraine must remain a neutral state, the statement said, informing that Putin told the conditions to the French President.

Meanwhile, a statement from the French President’s office said that Emmanuel Macron had called Russian President Vladimir Putin and called for an immediate end to the war in Ukraine.

The French statement added that “President Emmanuel Macron had requested the Russian President continue to communicate so that the conflict would not escalate”. At the same time, President Putin has expressed his willingness to accept Emanuel Macron’s request.

Meanwhile, the first round of talks between Russia and Ukraine on the Belarusian border ended “without a decision”. Russia says both sides have agreed to continue talks. They will sit in discussion again in a day or two, reports various international media.

Representatives from both sides met in Belarus shortly before 1 pm local time on Monday. The discussion lasted for five long hours. After the talks, the representatives of both sides left for their respective capitals for consultations.

In a video speech before the meeting, Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy called for the surrender of Russian troops and the immediate accession of his country to the European Union. 

Source: Parstoday