Voting in 204 UP, Lakshmipur-2 by-polls tomorrow

Voting in 204 UP, Lakshmipur-2 by-polls tomorrow


Published: 19:30 20 June 2021  

Election Commission (EC); File Photo

Election Commission (EC); File Photo

The voting in 204 Union Parishads (UPs) is set to begin tomorrow (Monday, June 21) in compliance with the hygiene rules amid the coronavirus pandemic. Besides, the by-elections of the Lakshmipur-2 constituency, the municipality polls in Jhalokati Sadar and Dinajpur’s Setabganj will be held simultaneously.

On the day, the voting will be held from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm. The Election Commission (EC) has already taken overall preparations. Law enforcement has started patrolling in the polling areas. Voting has also been instructed to follow the hygiene rules. 

There will be no general holiday in the constituency on the polling day. However, election-related institutions, including polling stations, election officials will be under general leave. Voters will also be able to take leave from the concerned institution to cast their vote.

According to EC sources, in the first phase, voting was scheduled in 367 UPs of the country. But due to the high contagion of Covid-19, the emergency meeting of the EC on June 10 postponed the voting in 163 UPs of Chattogram, Cox’s Bazar and Noakhali districts including all the Khulna divisions of the country.

Meanwhile, polling will be held in 173 UPs of Barishal division, 2 in Narsingdi district, 6 in Gazipur district, 13 in Madaripur, 2 in Sunamganj, 6 in Lakshmipur and one each in Rangpur and Bogura. 

EVM (Electronic Voting Machine) voting will be held in 20 out of 204 UPs. The by-election of the Lakshmipur-2 constituency and the voting in the two municipalities will be held under EVM.

Deputy Secretary of the EC Md. Atiyar Rahman said all preparations have been completed for the election. Additional security has been beefed up as voting is taking place amid the Covid-19 pandemic situation. Electoral officials have been instructed to cast votes in compliance with the hygiene rules.

He added that a ban on motorcycles has been imposed in the constituency from midnight on Saturday to mark the election. The ban will last till midnight on Tuesday. Besides, trucks and pickups have been banned from operating in the constituency from midnight on Sunday which will remain in force till 6 am Tuesday.