Alexa Sourav Ganguly set to be president of BCCI

Sourav Ganguly set to be president of BCCI


Published: 10:47 14 October 2019   Updated: 13:08 14 October 2019

Sourav Ganguly

Sourav Ganguly

In a dramatic turn of events, former India captain Sourav Ganguly emerged as consensus candidate to be the next President of Indian cricket board (BCCI) after Brijesh Patel appeared to have grabbed the coveted post. 

Jay Shah, son of India's Minister of Home Affairs Amit Shah, will be the new secretary while Arun Dhumal will be the new treasurer. Dhumal is the younger brother of MoS Finance and former BCCI president Anurag Thakur. 

Monday is the last day to file nominations but no election will be held since all candidates have emerged unopposed after weeks of lobbying and hectic parleys.

The 47-year-old Sourav Ganguly, who is currently the president of the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB), will have to demit his post in September 2020 as he will go into compulsory cooling-off period.

Sourav Ganguly, one of India's finest captains, will turn a new leaf albeit for 10 months even as a new chapter starts in Indian cricket.

Typically like his administrative guru Jagmohan Dalmiya, Sourav Ganguly pulled a match that looked all but lost till he pulled it off at the last moment.

Brijesh Patel, backed by Tamil Nadu strongman N Srinivasan, emerged the Presidential candidate when Sourav Ganguly remained non-committal on campaigning for the BJP in the 2021 state assembly elections.

However, when most of the state units opposed the 'understanding', things changed dramatically. 

"Yes, Brijesh was running for the President's post with N Srinivasan actively lobbying for him. However, there was stiff resistance against him. We are happy Sourav is the new President," a senior official from North East affiliated unit, told India's news agency PTI.

The choice for President's post was always between Sourav Ganguly and Patel and the former was finally accepted as an unanimous candidate.

Brijesh Patel could become the IPL chairman.

When the new office bearers assume office, it will end a 33-month term of the Committee of Administrators, which called shots in running the cricket affairs in-country post-Lodha Committee reforms.

Former India coach Anshuman Gaekwad beat Kirti Azad to be elected as male ICA representative on BCCI's nine-member Apex Council. Shanta Rangaswamy was earlier elected unopposed as female ICA representative. - NDTV