Alexa Siraj sworn as MP of Bogura-6 constituency

Siraj sworn as MP of Bogura-6 constituency


Published: 17:45 11 July 2019   Updated: 18:08 11 July 2019

Photo: Collected

Photo: Collected

BNP's Golam Mohammad Siraj, who won the by-election in Bogra-6 (Sadar) constituency, took oath as MP today in the parliament house.

On Thursday at 3:30 pm, Jatiya Sangasad Speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Choudhury sworn him.

Senior parliament secretariat Zafar Ahmed Khan, conducted the oath at the Speaker's office in the Parliament. Meanwhile, among the MPs of the party, Harunur Rashid, Zahidur Rahman, Mosharraf Hossain and Rumiin Farhana MP of reserved women seats were also present.

In the election held on June 24, Siraj received 89 thousand 742 votes with the ‘Sheaf of Paddy’ symbol. His nearest rival Awami League nominated candidate, T-Zaman Niketta got 32, 297 votes. Besides, Jatiya Party (plow) candidates got 7,271 votes.