Alexa 9 new HC judges take oath

9 new HC judges take oath


Published: 12:00 21 October 2019   Updated: 15:57 21 October 2019

Photo: Collected

Photo: Collected

Nine new judges, appointed to the High Court (HC) Division of the Supreme Court (SC), took oath on Monday. Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain administered the oath at the Judges’ Lounge of the Supreme Court.  

The oath-taking ceremony that started around 10:30 am and ended at 11:00 am. 

The new judges are - District and Session Judge Muhammad Mahbub-ul-Islam, District and Session Judge Shahed Nuruddin, SC Registrar General Dr Md Zakir Hossain, District and Session Judge Md Akhtaruzzaman, Advocate Md Mahmud Hasan Talukder, Advocate Kazi Ebadat Hossain, Deputy Attorney General KM Zahid Sarwar, Deputy Attorney General AKM Zahirul Haque and Deputy Attorney General Kazi Zinat Hoque. 

Judges of both the Appellate and High Court Divisions of the Supreme Court were present during the oath-taking ceremony. 

Earlier on Sunday, President Md Abdul Hamid has appointed them as HC additional judges for two years under article 98 of the constitution. On the same day, the law ministry issued a gazette notification to this effect, saying that their appointment would be effective from the date of their taking oath.